Louisiana.gov > DPS > Office of State Fire Marshal > Text Size
 
Contact Information Download Adobe Reader

Some documents on this page are in PDF format. Click here to download the free Adobe Reader.

Get Adobe Reader

Sprinkler License Requirements


Page Menu:

Sprinkler Flowchart

Sprinkler Flowchart

.

SPRINKLER FIRM REGULATIONS AND REQUIREMENTS

Every Office (Whether Main or Branch) Must Be Permitted.

Definition:

Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractor: means a person or entity engaged in the installation, repair, alteration, addition, maintenance, or inspection of fire protection sprinkler systems.

Sprinkler Permit: means the form issued by the State Fire Marshal to a Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractor upon approval of the application.

NOTE: The Sprinkler Permit must have a Certificate Holder that holds a NICET Level III or higher in Sprinkler Layout and Design or current licensure as a Louisiana certified Fire Protection or Mechanical Engineer to qualify the firm and an inspector.

Required Attachments

  1. INSURANCE DOCUMENTATION: A current copy of the contractor's insurance certificate made out to the State Fire Marshal MUST be attached to this application. The amount of coverage should be no less than one million dollars ($1,000,000.00) It should include the following:

    1. General Liability and
    2. Worker's Compensation (If employees other than owner or partners in firm)

      Certificate of Insurance MUST include the policy number, date of expiration, and physical address of each contractor location. Contractor's operation of business MUST be noted in the description part of the insurance certificate.
  2. A COMPANY CHECK ONLY OR CERTIFIED FUNDS MADE PAYABLE TO "OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL" MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH THIS APPLICATION. NO CASH OR PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED.

    FEES:
    Original License Fee is $500.00

    Renewal License Fee is $250.00
    Due Yearly On or Before Expiration Date

    Duplicate License Fee is $20.00
    To Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Destroyed License

    Revision License Fee is $20.00
    To Change any Information about the Contractor

    Late Renewal License Fee is $500.00
    Late renewal WILL result in penalties; double the renewal fee - No Grace Period

  3. Submit Documentation from Louisiana Secretary of State's Office if contractor is incorporated.

  4. Submit Occupational License from your Local Government for all contractors (Corp., Partnership or Individual if contractor is located in the State of Louisiana)

    NOTE: YOU SHOULD NOTIFY THIS OFFICE WITHIN TEN (10) DAYS, BY USE OF AN APPLICATION, IF THERE IS A CHANGE IN THE CONTRACTOR'S BUSINESS NAME, ADDRESS, OR OWNERSHIP.

You may contact the following offices to obtain required documents or information:

1.) Louisiana Worker's Compensation
(225) 342-7571

2.) Louisiana Secretary of State
(225) 342-4479

3.) National Institute for Certificates in Engineering Technologies
www.nicet.org | 1-888-476-4238

4.) Office of State Fire Marshal Website
www.dps.state.la.us/sfm | (800) 256-5452

5.) Dept. of Revenue (Non-residency form option 2)
www.rev.state.la.us | (225) 219-7656

.

SPRINKLER EMPLOYEE REQUIREMENTS/SPRINKLER PERMIT REGULATIONS AND REQUIREMENTS

NOTE: YOU MUST NOTIFY THIS OFFICE WITHIN 10 DAYS, BY USE OF AN APPLICATION, IF THERE IS A CHANGE OF EMPLOYER OR EMPLOYER'S COMPANY NAME. LICENSEE CHANGES NAME OR ADDRESS.

Employee Requirements

CERTIFICATE HOLDER: A person who has satisfied all of the following requirements:

  • The person shall be an employee of a fire protection sprinkler contractor who works a minimum of thirty-two hours per week for such contractor and receives a federal tax form W-2 wage statement or a Schedule K-1 distribution from the fire protection sprinkler contractor.

  • The person shall maintain a certification in NICET LEVEL III or LEVEL IV Fire Protection Engineering Technology, Automatic Sprinkler Layout.

NOTE: NICET Level III or higher in Sprinkler Layout or Certified Mechanical Engineer required.

INSPECTOR: A person who works a minimum of thirty-two hours per week for a fire protection sprinkler contractor and receives a federal tax form W-2 wage statement or a Schedule K-1 distribution from the fire protection sprinkler contractor. Performs testing and maintenance of water-based fire protection systems in accordance with National Fire Protection Association Pamphlet 25, entitled Standard for the Inspection, Testing and Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection Systems. (The State Fire Marshal has decided to utilize NICET (National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies) in lieu of administering an exam of its own. Effective Jan. 1, 2006, each inspector must have passed the written modules to become certified NICET Level 2. Also, effective Jan. 1, 2008, each inspector must have passed the written modules to become certified NICET Level 3. This will give inspectors two (2) years to reach NICET 2 and four (4) years to reach NICET 3. Documentation must be submitted showing that such modules have been passed.)

NOTE: An individual who desires to plan and inspect sprinkler systems MUST have BOTH a valid certificate as well as a valid inspector license.

Required Attachments:

  1. Applicants MUST attach two (2) color photographs of themselves that are one (1") inch by one (1") inch and shows the whole face. Failure to do so will result in a delay of the process. We CANNOT process the application without the photos.

    Note: Photos with sunglasses, hats, etc. are not acceptable.

  2. Applications cannot be processed without DATES including, DATE OF HIRE. Applications must have Original Signatures.

  3. An Employee cannot have a P.O. Box for a physical address.

  4. Please submit a photocopy of the applicant's Drivers License. This will enable our office to verify required information in case of illegible handwriting.

  5. Certificate Holder must attach a copy of current NICET Card and Sign and Notorize the attached Affidavit. This should be done for the initial application and for renewal.

***NOTE*** NO CASH OR PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED!
COMPANY CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ONLY SHOULD BE MADE PAYABLE TO "OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL".

FEES:

ORIGINAL LICENSE Fee is $100.00

RENEWAL LICENSE Fee is $50.00
Due Yearly or 60 Days Prior to Expiration Date

DUPLICATE Fee is $20.00
To Replace a Lost, Stolen or Destroyed License

REVISION Fee is $20.00
To Change any Information about the Employee

LATE RENEWAL Fee is $100.00
Late renewal WILL result in penalties; double the renewal fee - No Grace Period


This page was last modified on October 7, 2010