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STATE FIRE MARSHAL LIFTS STATEWIDE BURN BAN
Effective 2:00 p.m. on Monday, July 20, 2009

As a result of the recent hot, dry weather, State Fire Marshal Butch Browning ordered an advisory limiting all private
burning statewide, pursuant to his authority under R.S. 40:1563. That statewide advisory is hereby lifted, effective
Monday, July 20, 2009 At 2pm (CST). Understanding the potential impact on local fire departments to effectively
respond to fires, the State Fire Marshal advises, however, that citizens should check with their parish officials prior to
burning.

Fire Marshal Browning thanks the citizens of Louisiana for taking the necessary steps to ensure safety, as the refraining of
burning over the past 28 days has prevented many dangerous fires. Citizens who choose to burn are reminded to follow all
State and Local laws and regulations. Local governments are cautioned and encouraged to continue monitoring
private burning within their respective jurisdictions and take action to eliminate dangers.

Louisiana Administrative Code, 33:111.1109.D.6: Control of Air Pollution from Outdoor Burning

Private burning by citizens on their own property may create numerous hazards to their neighbors, the environment, and
the public at large. Pursuant to LAC 33:111.1109.D, which states in part “[t]he authority to conduct outdoor burning does
not exempt or excuse the person responsible from the consequences of, or the damages, or injuries resulting from the
burning.”

Please note, several parishes have bans on the public burning of trash and Pursuant to La. R.S. 30:2057(B)(5)(a), there is
no general prohibition, in parishes whose population is less than 90,000 people, for vegetative debris burning by private
citizens to burn their own debris in their own yard. Our office recommends this to be conducted during day light hours to
avoid undue concerns. Parishes with a population over 90,000 may burn this debris under the following conditions
pursuant to LAC 33:111.1109.D.6:

a. prevailing winds at the time of the burning must be away from any city or town, the ambient air of which may
be affected by smoke from the burning;

b. the location of the burning must be at least 1,000 feet (305 meters) from any dwelling other than a dwelling or
structure located on the property on which the burning is conducted;

c. care must be used to minimize the amount of dirt on the material being burned;

d. heavy oils, asphalt materials, items containing natural or synthetic rubber, or any materials other than plant
growth which produce unreasonable amounts of smoke may not be burned; nor may these substances be used to start a
fire; and,

e. the burning may be conducted only between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Piles of combustible material
should be of such size to allow complete reduction in this time interval.

Finally, any burning must be controlled so that traffic hazards are minimized.

This advisory is effective 2:00 p.m. on Monday, July 20, 2009.
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