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1. Multiple Year License 
 
Per R.S. 40:1664.11, the agency is authorized to create multiple year licenses.  To that end, I am 
currently having our computer system revised to allow such.  I anticipate having this new system in 
place for January, 2012.  This system will reduce the amount of paperwork needed to be submitted on an 
annual basis and allow a more efficient and expedient renewal process.   
 
With this new system, we will switch to a three (3) year cycle for renewals, continuing education, rules 
revisions, photographs and fingerprinting.  Only Property Protection contractors are required to be 
fingerprinted.   
 
During the first renewal cycle of multiple year licenses, some firms and their employees will be issued a 
three year license, some a four (4) year license and some a five (5) year license.  This will allow us to 
place everyone into the multiple year system without all licenses coming due at the same time at the end 
of the cycle.  The computer system will randomly assign firms into either the three, four or five year 
categories.  Upon the next renewal, all firms will then be placed into a three year renewal cycle.   
 
All fees that the firm and employees pay will continue to be assessed on an annual basis.  An invoice 
will be sent to the firm each year listing the current employees and the total fee due for that year.  The 
only documents that need to be submitted on an annual basis will be the signed invoice, a current 
insurance certificate from your agent and the annual fees. 
 
Example:  A firm with only a Security endorsement and 5 employees currently pays $300 to renew ($50 
for the firm and $250 for the employees) annually.  Assuming no changes are made to the number of 
employees, then the firm will be sent a bill for $300 each year.    
 
 
 
 

“Is Yours Working??” 
Smoke Detectors Save Lives 

Office of the State Fire Marshal, Code Enforcement and Building Safety 
8181 Independence Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA  70806 

(225) 925-4911          1-800-256-5452 



 
         Licensing Section Memo 2-2011 
         Page 2 
 
If this same firm was given a three year license, then they would follow the below schedule: 
 
2012 Renewal – submit all required applications, documentation, digital photographs, etc.  

Fee Total: $300 
2013 Invoice – submit a signed invoice, current insurance certificate.   

Fee Total: $300 
2014 Invoice – submit a signed invoice, current insurance certificate.   

Fee Total: $300 
2015 Renewal – submit all required applications, documentation, digital photographs, etc.  

Fee Total: $300 
 
Note:  Firms and employees must still notify the Fire Marshal within ten (10) days of any changes 
affecting licensure (name change, address change, employment status etc.).  
 
2. Property Protection Licensing Rules  
 
After a cooperative effort between the Louisiana Life Safety and Security Systems Association, the 
Louisiana Automatic Fire Alarm Association and this office, a new set of Administrative Rules have 
been promulgated for the Property Protection industry.  These rules became effective September 20, 
2011 and apply only to Property Protection contractors.  The rules can be found on the agency’s website 
located at www.lasfm.org.  Click on “Code Enforcement,” then “Licensing” and finally, on “Laws and 
Rules.”  Rules for Fire Sprinkler and Fire Protection contractors can also be found in the same section.   
 
3.  Revised LSPP Policy and Procedures Guidelines 
 
Please continue to review the Life Safety and Property Protection (LSPP) Advisory Board Policy and 
Procedure Guidelines.  These are also found on the agency website under “Licensing,” then “LSPP 
Policy and Procedures.”  These guidelines are continually updated as the Board approves initial 
certification and continuing education courses.     
 

 
CC:  Louisiana Life Safety and Security Association 
        Louisiana Automatic Fire Alarm Association 
        Louisiana Fire Sprinkler Association 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  


