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LIFE SAFETY AND PROPERTY PROTECTION
LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

Please complete all pages of a new firm application and signatures in blue ink only.

Submit completed firm application, with a current email address listed, along with all
required signatures. Firm must not have a P. O. Box for the physical address. If the firm &
employee licenses are not renewed on or before the expiration date, the license is not valid
and is subject to suspension. All licenses are to be renewed before the 1* of the month in
which they expire. The name of the firm (along with any dba) and physical address listed on
the firm application MUST match the name and physical address on the insurance certificates.

All owners/principals of the firm must sign the application and submit a copy of their current,
valid driver’s license. If you have a renewal sticker on the back of your driver’s license, then
please send a copy of the back of the license also. (For Property Protection firm owners /
principals, by signing the application, you authorize this office to conduct a criminal records
background check.)

Firms that carry property protection endorsements MUST have a fingerprint background
check done on all owners and/or principals. Each owner / principal MUST submit a
fingerprint card from their local law enforcement agency, an application for a fingerprint
background check (form found on our website) to be conducted and a check in the amount of
$38.00, made payable to the Department of Public Safety for the fees required for the
background check.

All Property Protection licensed firms MUST be located in the state of Louisiana and the
office must be fully operational.

All firms MUST have a qualifier for each endorsement they carry. The qualifier for all
endorsement types must live within 150 miles of the business for which they qualify. Also,
the designated qualifier of all license endorsements must submit a signed affidavit with the
endorsements that they qualify checked off. If the owner is the qualifier, then he/she need
only fill out the owner affidavit.

Insurance certificates must be faxed (225-925-3699) or mailed in to the Fire Marshal’s office
by the insurance agent. Each firm shall have at least $500,000.00 general liability and shall
have workers compensation if they have any employees other than the owner. The insurance
certificate must have the current physical address of the firm listed in the box “Name of
Insured”. In the “Description of Operations”, it should state: “Life Safety and Property
Protection” or specifically list the type of work performed. In the section “Certificate Holder”,
it should have the following listed: (See sample copy on the next page)

Office of the State Fire Marshal
Licensing Section

8181 Independence Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806



8. If the firm is located outside of Louisiana, you must indicate an Agent of Service.

9. Each firm shall submit a copy of their qualifiers current NICET certificate, or any other
certification of their qualifier.

10. If the firm is going to perform high pressure hydrostatic testing, firm MUST apply for a
Hydrostatic Testing and Fire Extinguisher endorsement and submit a copy of U.S. DOT
permit.

11. All employees of the firm must be paid W-2 employees.

12. Send only ONE company check or money order made payable to “Office of the State Fire
Marshal” with the firm application and any employee applications. NO CASH or PERSONAL
CHECKS accepted.

13. ALL Firms shall send a sample of each color service tag (blue, green, yellow & red), installation
tag and 6 year/hydrostatic testing label (form attached to new firm application).

14. Vehicle Registration for out-of-state Fire Protection & Sprinkler Firms. Each vehicle that
will travel in Louisiana will need to be registered on a Vehicle Registration form (found on our
website under Firm Information) and shall pay $20 each for a license certificate to be kept in
the vehicle. Name of the firm, the firm’s physical address, phone number and license number
are to be Pre-Printed or Ink Stamped on the tags.

15. Fire Protection Endorsement Equipment (Refer to Title 55:V:Chapter 30, Section 3053).

Those firms carrying endorsements of fire alarm and fire extinguisher must have the required
pieces of equipment to be licensed.

NOTE: The Firm MUST fill out all pages of the new firm application and fill out an affidavit for each
qualifier. If the owner is the qualifier, then he/she need only fill out the owner affidavit.

NOTE: All firms should notify this office within ten (10) days, by use of a new application, if there are
any changes in the business name, address, phone numbers or ownership.
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The Office of the State Fire Ma gquiremen p

rshal Requirements to Complete an Acord Insurance Certificate

7. COMPANY AFFORDING COVERAGE

All firms licensed with the Office of the State Fire Marshal are required, by statute, to maintain at least $500,000 in general liability
insurance and to provide this office with a current dertificate from your agent by fax (225-925-3699) or mail (8181 Independence
‘Blvd., Baton Rouge?h{x 70806). This information sheet is intended to assist you in meeting these requirements when submitting
an Acord form. Itis vour responsibility to see that your insurance goverage meets requirements and that this office is provided with
evidence of that coverage. License renewals or new applications will not be approved until ALL insurance requirements are met.
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