DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS

Public Safety Services

BOBBY JINDAL H. BUTCH BROWNING
GOVERNOR STATE FIRE MARSHAL

May 27, 2010

To: Industrialized Building Manufacturers and Dealers

From: Felicia Cooper, Deputy Assistant Secretary
Joe Delaune, Chief Building Officia
Eric Parnell, Plan Review Architect

Re: Industrialized Building Program Rule Modifications and Code Changes

Approved by: H. “Butch” Browning, State Fire Mar shal

RULE MODIFICATIONS

Rules addressing Act 514 of the 2009 Regular Legidlative Session, which modifies and clarifies the
Industrialized Buildings Act, have now been published. These rules are posted and can be viewed on
our website at LASFM.org under the Industrialized Buildings Information section, and on the Office
of the State Registers website at http://www.doa.l ouisiana.gov/osr/reg/1005/1005.pdf on page 1020.
Please take the time to familiarize yourself with these rules.

The fee structure outlined below is one of the primary changes implemented. Note that the plan
review fees for both new and renovated industrialized buildings have not changed.

0 82737.Fees. A. Inaccordance with R.S. 40:1730.67, a manufacturer or dealer of
Industrialized Buildings who conducts businessin the State of Louisiana shall pay to the
office of state fire marshal, code enforcement and building safety service fees based on
the following schedule:

0 Manufacturer registration: $350.00 per year, per each location.
0 Deder registration: $250.00 per year, per each location.
o0 Decd orinsigniaissuance:

* Modules: $ 00.07 per square foot of floor area, with a minimum fee of
$25.00.

»=  Modular Components: $ 00.02 per square foot of surface area, with a
minimum fee of $00.60.
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o Code Equivalency review: $100.00 per review.
0 Inspections: $40.00 per hour, including travel time.

Please also review Section 2729 regarding penalties and fines. A fine not to exceed $200 dollars per
day may be levied for noncompliance with these rules.

CODE CHANGES

As of January 1, 2010 the 2008 NEC has been adopted by the Louisiana State Uniform Construction
Code Council as the current electrical code. Also, the 2009 edition of the NFPA 101 Life Safety
Code (LSC) will bein effect on June 20, 2010. Please make any necessary modificationsto plans and
specifications to address changes in these code editions.

In accordance with Section 2713, plan approvals are valid for 180 days from the date of the review, or
until notification that the applicable standards referenced in R.S. 40:1730.56 are to be updated,
modified, or changed, whichever islater. Any previously approved plan reviews that are older than
180 days are now expired. In order to update the review for the current codes, the plan should be sent
in on a building modification form for re-review. In accordance with 2715.(C)., the scope of work
addressing modifications for compliance with the 2008 NEC and 2009 L SC will be considered minor.
The Building Modifications plan review fee will be $20 per submittal. Submittals shall include:

A COPY of the stamped original reviewed plans.
New updated plans and specifications.

New CD with *.pdf of updated plans.

Building Modification for Plan review application.
The appropriate fee.
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Note that the 2009 editions of the IBC, IMC and IFGC have been submitted by the Louisiana State
Uniform Construction Code Council to the Legidlature for oversight and have requested an effective
date of adoption for January 1, 2011. Another notice will be sent out once this request has been
approved and the date is confirmed.

If you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact Eric Parnell, Joe Delaune, or Cathy
Mayers at 1-800-256-5452.
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