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As you may be aware, Act 409 of the 2007 Regular Legislative Session, the Cigarette Fire Safety and 
Firefighter Protection Act is effective August 31, 2009.   A copy of the Act can be found on the State 
Fire Marshal’s website at http://sfm.dps.louisiana.gov/. 
 
All manufacturers with cigarette brand families currently listed on the Louisiana Approved Tobacco 
Brand Directory maintained by the Louisiana Office of the Attorney General must certify cigarettes 
under the Cigarette Fire Safety and Firefighter Protection Act (hereinafter referred to as “the Act”), 
effective August 31, 2009, with the Louisiana State Fire Marshal.  Because tobacco product 
manufacturers must comply with all state laws, only cigarettes that are certified both by the Attorney 
General, under the Master Settlement Agreement (R. S. 13:5061 et seq.), and by the State Fire 
Marshal, under the Act, will be legal for sale in Louisiana as of August 31, 2009.  The Act has a 
provision that allows a wholesale dealer or retail dealer to sell its existing inventory of cigarettes on 
or after the effective date of the Act if the wholesale dealer’s inventory was purchased prior to 
August 31, 2009. 
 
Pursuant to the Act, we request that each manufacturer submit to the State Fire Marshal a 
certification letter attesting to the following.  Signature of an owner, partner, officer or principal 
representing the manufacturer is required on the certification letter. 
 

1. Each cigarette listed in the certification has been tested in accordance with R.S. 
40:1601.3.  Note: This section in Act 409 is now “R.S. 40:1628” in statute. 

2. Each cigarette listed in the certification meets the performance standards set forth in 
R.S. 40:1601.3. Note: This section in Act 409 is now “R.S. 40:1628” in statute. 

 
Each cigarette listed in the certification shall be described with the following information: 
 

1. Brand or trade name on the package. 
2. Style, such as light or ultra light. 
3. Length in millimeters. 
4. Circumference in millimeters. 
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5. Flavor, such as menthol or chocolate, if applicable. 
6. Filter or non-filter. 
7. Package description, such as soft pack or box. 
8. Marking pursuant to R.S. 40:1601.5 (now “R.S. 40:1630”):  An illustration of the 

proposed package marking shall be provided to the State Fire Marshal for approval. 
9. The name, address, and telephone number of the laboratory, if different from the 

manufacturer that conducted the test. 
10. The date that the testing occurred. 

 
Each cigarette certified is required to be recertified every 3 years. Please note additional provisions 
in the law regarding copies of certifications and of illustrations of package markings to be provided to 
wholesale dealers, agents and retail dealers. 
 
For each certification, a manufacturer shall pay to the State Fire Marshal a fee of $250. Note: 
manufacturers may submit one certification prior to 8/31/2009 covering all of the brand styles 
and brand families intended for sale in Louisiana.  Money orders, cashier’s checks, certified 
checks, and company checks are accepted.  Checks shall be made payable to the Louisiana Office 
of State Fire Marshal. The certification letter with required information and fee should be sent to the 
following address: 
 

Office of the State Fire Marshal  
Re: Cigarette Fire Safety and Firefighter Protection Act 
8181 Independence Blvd. 
Baton Rouge, LA  70806 
Attention: Felicia H. Cooper 

 
Copies of the certifications shall be made available to the Office of the Attorney General and the 
Louisiana Department of Revenue purposes of ensuring compliance with this Act.  The Attorney 
General’s mailing information is provided below for your convenience. 
 

Tobacco Settlement Enforcement Unit  
State of Louisiana, Office of the Attorney General 
P.O. Box 94005 
Baton Rouge, LA  70804 
Attention: Gol S. Hannaman 
 

The certification letter and accompanying documentation are due on or before August 31, 2009.  
Failure to file the required certification materials is a basis for removal from both the State Fire the 
State Fire Marshal and Louisiana Attorney General approved brand directories.  The approval of the 
marking for packaging and any proposed alternative test method are required to be sent only to the 
State Fire Marshal. 
 
Questions for the State Fire Marshal may be directed to Felicia Cooper at email   
felicia.cooper@dps.la.gov or by fax to 225-925-4593.  Questions for the Attorney General should be 
directed to the Tobacco Settlement Enforcement Unit at (225) 326-6423, by e-mail at 
tobaccodoj@ag.state.la.us, or by fax at (225) 326-6072.  The State Fire Marshal will maintain a 
directory to reflect the Cigarette Fire Safety and Firefighter Protection Act certifications.  Additional 
information will be provided to manufacturers as needed. 

We appreciate your cooperation during the certification process under the Cigarette Fire Safety and 
Firefighter Protection Act. 


